2023 Home Summaries
408 Griffith Ave.
This classic traditional home was built in 1949 and sits on a half-acre lot. The house underwent a significant renovation in 2011 and has been completely restored to its full character and charm. First impressions are dramatic. When entering the foyer, you will see the beautiful chevron-patterned wood floors that flow from the double entry front doors through the ornately columned archway to the lovely patio at the rear of the house.
500 Griffith Ave.
Ludie C. Cartwright and Thomas Manley Brittain built this lovely home on the property given to them as a wedding present from Ludie’s father, Lon Cartwright, on their wedding day in 1915. The house was originally a two-story beauty with a full basement on an acre of land. In 1929, a raging fire began in the basement furnace and engulfed the entire home, leaving nothing standing but the concrete walls of the basement foundation.
510 9th Street
Described as a Colonial Revival style, this lovely 3740 square foot two-story house was built by Riter C. Hulsey and his wife, Gloria. Riter Hulsey was one of Terrell’s most prominent citizens and served as Chairman of the Board for American National Bank from 1986 until his death in 2017. Mr. Hulsey worked at the bank for 70 years. He was the first recipient of the “Outstanding Citizen of Terrell” Award in recognition of his lifetime of civic and community contributions.
802 Johnson Street
The Robisons are the newest owners of this charming Victorian bungalow built in 1900. They moved into this 2546-square-foot gem in 2021. The home has original hardwood floors, four bedrooms, two baths, and a lovely wrap-around porch. There are cold-rolled glass windows throughout and two matching stained glass upper window sections in both front rooms of the house. The transoms are original throughout the house and are found over almost every door. This is a single-story structure with a farmhouse floor plan typical of the period.
315 Laurel Trail
This elegant home was built by longtime Terrell residents, the Risingers, in 1997. Dr. Charlie Risinger has been practicing medicine in Terrell for nearly 40 years, and his wife, Dena, has selflessly served as School Board President for over 20 years. After a serious fire partially destroyed the home, the Risingers sold the house to another set of deeply-rooted area residents, Randy and Kathie Fivecoat.
207 N. Frances Street
This impressive two-story Beau Arts style structure was completed in 1904 using one of the thirty-two financial grants awarded by the Carnegie Corporation of New York. Grants were received across the State of Texas from 1898 until 1915. Andrew Carnegie funded the construction of 2509 public libraries between 1883 and 1929, with over $350 Million dollars of his personal fortune spent across Europe and the United States. This outlay was done via a series of pre-qualifying grants.